Newly Discovered 40 Year Old Pencil Sketches

When we are young, we are brimful of ideas, a world to conquer and yes there is an actor, on the periphery, a playwright, a relic hunter of priceless artifacts a super detective that always gets his quarry.  A soldier fighting for a noble and just cause and a whole host of so many other “what if’s”, when we were… young.I wonder if I could possibly find a most appropriate tune made famous by Roger Whittaker called, I don’t believe in if. Here I am, back again  with some good news, I have found it on You Tube, enjoy: It left me absolutely speechless, I hope you liked it too.He certainly makes a fine point about If being for children. I was a combat soldier for 3 years, and yes, I was even a cop, didn’t quite make detective, though. Ah, yes, the movie star, for a very brief moment, even that was a part of my youthful repertoire, when I landed a major role, in a 1972 South African war film called Kaptein Caprivi, the part was that of the sadistic Chinese commanding officer, Colonel Ling Fu.  The day before heading out to the film location, my military unit was called up for combat duty, where ironically I was posted to the exact location the script writer Basil Stols had chosen to stage the fictional battle zone. The Caprivi is a small semi-desert tract of land bordering Angola and Zambia,  I was posted to a small town, named Katima, Mulilo, (place of endless fires). when I finally returned home. The film producer  Albie Venter offered me another role in a thriller about adult”blind” twins, one of whom was actually not blind having secretly regained his sight and viciously murders his blind twin brother for the inheritance of his wealthy father’s estate. By then, I was over the movie star phase, foolishly believing that for me, acting was jinxed and I declined Albie Venter’s very generous offer. 6 months later, I could have kicked myself squarely in the butt, as the movie was an overnight box office hit which also launched an obscure unknown actor Cobus Rossouw’s very successful young actor’s career. Besides, I had written a sequel to the Captain Caprivi movie based on the characters of Basil Stols’ movie. My script was battle proven, since I was writing it under combat conditions, most of it. No fake movie script could compare to the real thing, right? Anyhow, the script never saw the light of day, as Basil Stols, the Captain Caprivi character creator, although Instantly liking it rightfully laid claim to the entire script. I felt that I deserved at least some form of compensation, his Lawyers did not agree and a messy court case ensued. While the characters were his property, the authentic research under live combat conditions was my contribution. I was not authorized by him to create a sequel based on his characters.And finally, The closet artist emerged, I really love, the almost perfect, and often lifelike textures certain artists can achieve using only one pencil. It was this rare quality that coaxed me into giving it a try, few of my attempts have survived the ravages of time. I never sold a single sketch but for some inexplicable reason, some liked what I had drawn. One such person was my dear late mother -in law Martha Repsold. That gracious lady saw something in my doodling, as I preferred to call my attempts back then, by having every one of my pieces framed! God bless her, for the fond memories of her kind and precocious nature. And one other person, my late boss, mister Johan Adriaan Kruger, the C.E.O. of a shipbuilding company, Sandock Austral Ltd. in the port

Source: Newly Discovered 40 Year Old Pencil Sketches

"Freedom of the mind is the truest form…a cognizant act to enfold the unexplored." Quote by: Andre G Hartslief I write motivational articles and coach people to be all that they can be.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

