On Buying Less Stuff

When I was a kid, I was certain that my life would go in a kind of, direct path. I was certain that my life would feel a certain way and go in a certain way. I was going to be a millionaire before I was 40. When I was a kid, I had no clue about how the world worked, and what made it turn. As I look back now, over the past 65 years, I don’t see myself as a clueless dreamer, much less being naive. I see a boy who had a lot of stuff to learn and hadn’t yet realized that the only way I had to learn it was by jumping into the deep, time and again and just letting life happen, keeping an open mind and a willingness to get the crap frequently kicked out of me. I’ve pretty much stayed on that same journey, ever since then, feeling bogged down by stuff, which in the weave of life’s cloth, is just so much flotsam and jetsom.I recall Andre’ Rieu, a Dutch violinist and conductor best known for creating the waltz-playing Johann Strauss Orchestra, answering a poignant question about his ownership of a unique Stradivarius violin, it was the second Strad. made by Antonio Stradivari in 1667 who was 23 and newly married and about which Andre’ remarked:”Antonio Stradivarius in 1667 23, newly married and very much in love and this violin witnessed all of it, that is why it plays such sweet notes, I, of course, do not own it, I am merely its present custodian.” -Andre’ RieuHave I actually learned anything, well yeah, for starters, I’m suddenly becoming aware, that we are all custodians of objects, not owners of things.  Looking at the wrinkled face staring back at me from the mirror, it definitely is the worse for wear, when I compare it to most of the stuff I have been hanging on to for dear life, some of which had even cost me a lost friendship here and there. When I go, I’m happy to say, that I was more fortunate than many, to have realized in time, to start valuing experiences over possessions

Source: On Buying Less Stuff

"Freedom of the mind is the truest form…a cognizant act to enfold the unexplored." Quote by: Andre G Hartslief I write motivational articles and coach people to be all that they can be.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

