Do You Know Your Brain’s Dominant Side?

RIGHT HAND OVER RIGHT FOREHEADI believe it’s true that certain parts of the brain perform certain tasks (for example, rotating images mentally takes place mostly in the right hemisphere); while complicated behaviors utilize both hemispheres of the brain, and the concept of the left and right brain dominance only popped up in the late 1960’s and has since become a well-known part of human psychology. While conclusive evidence shows that we all use both sides of the brain, each of us has a dominant side, and it’s this dominant side which makes up for a huge part of our personalities.Most of us agree, that certain individuals who think a certain way, also tend to show more interest in certain areas and are clearly more effective in certain ways. I believe that an accurate understanding of the left and right brain concept can help one to become more productive, creative and efficient.In college, we were taught how to discover this in live drawing classes; with the pencils, chalk, or charcoal. Many of us didn’t have a clue but I found it really worked for me. In my graphic design class, there were about 20 of us – 5 of which were left-handed, the rest right handed. I’m right handed but found that whenever I used my left hand “my marks were strangely higher” this stuck with me and I tended to do my creative work using my left hand and I did so quite sub – consciously, apparently, most people always go back to their dominant hand. SO, BEING LEFT-HANDED HAS IT’S BENEFITSThis all kinda makes sense to me, because if I remember correctly, the left hand is controlled by the right side of the brain, which is why many artists and creative people are left handed, my daughter is left-handed and is extremely artistic!!!When we are taught how to write, we have a tendency to imitate the person who is teaching, perhaps we do this because it’s easier to do an exact copy than try figuring out how to do it left-handed. I’m right brained and right handed but my handwriting was never attractive.The letters didn’t have a consistent slant and the lines would slope, I never felt good about the final product. Are you right or left-handed when doing simpler or automatic tasks? Which hand grabs the objects, throws the ball, and opens the lid on a jar? While I sit and think, I always rub my leg, often wearing out the left leg of my jeans. Have you checked, when wearing gloves while working, which glove wears out first? TAKE THIS FREE BRAIN QUIZOriginal content: A.G.Hartslief-Tranquilpen©2016 image:CC0 no attribution

Source: Do You Know Your Brain’s Dominant Side?

"Freedom of the mind is the truest form…a cognizant act to enfold the unexplored." Quote by: Andre G Hartslief I write motivational articles and coach people to be all that they can be.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

